argh What have I done?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2004, 06:31 PM
Nap
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default argh What have I done?!?!

First: I am not a mechanic but I can never leave well-enough alone lol

I have a 97 Fbody (Trans AM) and had the great idea to do some cheap mods to it.

I put a cold air intake on it, TB bypass and eventually had to do something with the muffler and tail pipe falling off so it has a flow master on it..

The car sounded good and ran good for quite some time then started coding.. With no other resource but AutoZone in my budget to scan I learned the O2 sensor was bad.. Replaced two on one side because the tech told me he couldn't tell which one of the two was bad. Car ran fine with no code. About a month later it coded again. Same deal, only on the other side. Now I have 4 new sensors, no codes and car runs fine.

The fuel pump quit. Replaced the fuel pump but my gauge show like 1/16th lol under F when completely topped off.. and dripping.. but on the plus side seems have an incredible reserve (sarcasam is difficult in text but believe me, it's in there).

Enter my brother who likes the sound of my car and who owns a mig welder and a saws-all. He comes up with the idea to take the cats off.. but being broke all we did was cut them off clean them out and weld it all together.

The car ran fine but half way home I get a code. I waited a couple of weeks and took it to AutoZone.. "Bank0 and Bank1 hydrocarbon something or other out of limits" and I bet I can guess why.. SOooo.. I'm screwed with this code..

I tried to find something to fool the sensors but couldn't, learned of a guy who built a resister thing but it looked like to much work so I lived with it..

Then the car started to act really really odd..