LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Need in depth advice

Old 10-29-2013, 04:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need in depth advice

Ok guys I have a 95 Z28 and have the front suspension out tranny and motor out and engine almost down to the block on the stand, all that's left is getting the crank and pistons out. This is my first time, but I am no stranger to engines. I am having it bored over to a 383 this week and need some advice on what to get for the lower end. What is going to be the best bang? I need to know brand and specs for a great crank and cam combo and a really good set of heads. I want to do roller rockers. All the top end stuff is minimal to me, MSD ignition all the bolt on stuff is easy. Eventually down the road I might think about a 100-150 nitrous shot on it, but not now. But I want everything beefy enough to take the stress if I do. Al combinations of equipment are a welcome suggestion and I will research each one of them, because the lower end is not my strong suit.
Old 10-29-2013, 05:52 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 87 Likes on 78 Posts

whatever crank brand you get, go forged vs cast. Callies is one brand often recommended. If more budget minded than Scat

The cam ideally would be a package with the heads from Advanced Induction or Lloyd Elliot

Might want to consider having the block machined for 4 bolt main caps

get the heads selected before you jump into the block machineing. Depending on the chamber size, desired compression, piston choice will dictate if block gets zero decked
Old 10-29-2013, 07:47 PM
12 Second Club

Received 46 Likes on 32 Posts

Goals, budget, current mods etc will help.
Old 10-29-2013, 08:09 PM

Goals 450-500 at the wheels, current mods, this one was factory with 261,000 miles I put on it. Budget, that all depends 5-6k maybe more depending on what I get into. I'm doing most the labor.
Old 10-29-2013, 08:34 PM
12 Second Club

Received 46 Likes on 32 Posts