LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

New to LT1

Old 07-11-2016, 09:17 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to LT1

Hello everyone, let me start by saying I'm not new to cars. I've been around SBC all my life. I've built, raced and broken my share of stuff, so why am I posting this?

Well, I'm new to LT1 now here's where it gets scary. I'm a Cadillac guy so, I have a 95 Fleetwood LT1 which as you know is no slouch to begin with, however, being a car guy, I want to know what I can do to make more HP.

I don't want a big budget supercharger because unless it's twin screw, or a big Weiand it's not a real supercharger.

So, what are my options? Are the 58mm TB worth it? Do they make headers for the Cadillacs? The car is already full dual so no problem with space.

Should I do 3.73s in the rear?

Is looking for performance heads to much? Intake? Anything?

Tell me, what are you thinking. Fire away

Last edited by codewize; 07-13-2016 at 10:01 AM.
Old 07-11-2016, 09:51 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 62 Likes on 44 Posts

id do a nice stall, cam, 4.10 gears, roller rockers, and maybe a wet shot. those are the usual mods and not to hard to do. dont bother with a bigger tb. you need a tune for an auto. and the stock one will support over 400 hp
Old 07-11-2016, 10:05 PM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

How much power are you looking for? Budget?
Old 07-11-2016, 10:19 PM
Teching In

Budget is flexible within reason but I'm not a big fan of nitrous. Can we fiddle with the cam and not upset the PCM?

I think stock it makes 295 right so if I could get 350 - 375 out of it without breaking things and doing a bunch of internals I'd be pretty happy. Cam and rockers are fine with me. Cost effective and easy to do.
Old 07-11-2016, 10:41 PM
TECH Addict

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by codewize
Budget is flexible within reason but I'm not a big fan of nitrous. Can we fiddle with the cam and not upset the PCM?