LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Ram Jet 502 swap?

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2005, 07:00 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Ram Jet 502 swap?

I figure I would rather get a crate motor of some sort or even a bare block and build it on a stand and then have it installed after its all checked out (since I'm no professional, but I would like to try to do this with my uncle's help). First, I'm gonna focus on paying my car off. Then, I would like to go with the crate motor idea. So, okay here we go I have searched with little info on actual BBC swaps. I was wondering if this is even possible, I know anything is possible with enough money, but is it an actual engine to consider. I mean, how many things would have to be swapped out? I have tried to search and find information on BBC swaps but a lot aren't for street cars and a lot aren't fuel injected... if I missed a thread that answers this stuff and about the 502 RamJet, please don't flame me lol, just link me and I will be happy to read on. I'm sure the hood would have to be swapped for something that sat a little higher, like one of the VFN fiberglass hoods, but I can't see any other body panels having to be swapped. Now, in my post I really want to focus on the mechanical end of it. Plus I would like this to be a street rod kinda deal...and maybe if I can afford to keep gas in the thing, drive it a good bit during the week, if that is even possible. I just like the idea of a real big block opposed to the SBC's that are sleeved and bored way, and things of that nature. Not saying there is anything wrong with them, just I want a real BBC. Or maybe this whole idea is a waste of time and a big waste of money. Anyway, just looking for some advice and knowledge on the subject. Thanks for all the help and support guys! Oh and the GM part number for the engine I'm talking about is 12497323 (Ram Jet 502) . Any info or other threads that I may have not read carefully enough is welcome.