LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Heater hose help.LT1

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2006, 07:04 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heater hose help.LT1

piece # 13 has broken off, do I need to get the complete hose> I think yes since it looks like it was pressed on. Can I just put a tube or fitting in there and clamp it on, or is that a check valve or something. Its the lower wp / heater hose. let me tell you this has been the week from He!! for all my cars.
http://shbox.com/1/heater_hoses_93-94.jpg
Old 08-06-2006, 07:49 AM
TECH Apprentice

#13 Valve, Heater Water Flow Cont. (Part of 1) (AC-Delco #15-5511) for 93-94 LT1 GM #10188036

as far as it being clamped on or not ... or how it is attached i have no knowledge of, anyone else know?
Old 08-06-2006, 09:47 AM
TECH Enthusiast

You can put a tube in and forget about it.
Old 08-06-2006, 10:09 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Low N Slow
You can put a tube in and forget about it.

No you cant. It's a flow restrictor that as the name suggests, will restrict flow to the heater core. Without it your likely to blow the heater core and cause a real mess.
Old 08-06-2006, 11:53 AM
Teching In

great guys, just got done doing that. total cost like 4.00...lol thanks all, there are other valves in the line so I was told that doing without this one is fine..maybe I'll order the part and throw it on to be safe, but for now this is working. Heater is not really an issue in florida
Old 08-06-2006, 01:09 PM
TECH Enthusiast

It will be an issue when it explodes and sends coolant all over your interior.

They don't put this restrictor in there without a reason.
Old 08-06-2006, 02:16 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by HBHRacing
It will be an issue when it explodes and sends coolant all over your interior.

They don't put this restrictor in there without a reason.