LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

For those who question your Optispark look here...

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2007, 07:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default For those who question your Optispark look here...

Greetings,

I'm a newbie here - I've been a lurker on this site for awhile but I decided to register tonight so I can share some pictures I have of my Optisprk which was recently pulled off and replaced on my newly aquired 1994 Corvette LT1 with 7,542 original miles.

The reason I metion the mileage is because you can look at my car top to bottom inside and out and you can see, smell and no doubt realize this is practically a new car.

Well the other day my car was running a bit rough at idle and and I blew it off as maybe the o2's were loaded up or maybe it was qwerk of Vettes of this era. And for the record, I have a '95 Trans Am w/ 53k original miles on it and I replaced my own Opti, waterpump, wires, plugs etc... as a precautionary thing when I bough the car 5 years ago. Therefore, I am familiar w/ LT1's, Opti units and the like.

Back to the rough idle, I forgot to metion I just finished "lightly" washing the motor (and I was very careful not to get the Opti wet) and detailing the car and engine compartment so upon finishing I started the Vette up let it idle (which seemed to be fine at the time) and when all of a sudden it died. I cranked this thing for hours it seemd like so finally I pushed it into my garage at the end of the night. Needless to say I was feeling ill - what did I do or didn't do? I know these motors, I was careful, this Vette has 7.5k original miles on it NOT 107k miles now WTF!!!

The next day I had it towed to the Chevy dealer and they diagnosed it as a bad Opti (kind of what I expected knowing the history of the Optispark unit...). 1 day later and $1,200.00 (which includes a Mobil 1 5w-30 oil change) my Vette was running like a new car.