LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 Stumble

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2007, 03:56 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 Stumble

Ok, this is my second post on this site so you could say that I am a noob. I've been lurking on here for the past few months and have read a lot of very informative posts. I've got problems similiar to others that have posted here but would like to approach this subject in a different way. The specs are as follows:

1995 Impala SS LT1
52MM Aftermarket Throttle body
30 LB Injectors (I know they are not needed for a basically stock application)
Corvette Fuel Rail and FPR (stock)
Hedman Block Hugger Headers
No cats
Straight through muffler (Cherry Bomb I think. It looks like a glasspak)
New 02 sensors
New ECT sensors
New Ac Delco Optispark
New Taylor Wires
New AC Delco Platinum Plugs
New Starter
New Alternator
New PS Pump
New Coil
New Valve Covers
Carter P5000 Fuel Pump (rated at 95 psi)

The PCM was programmed to eliminate EGR, VATS etc and placed in Speed Density mode. The new injector size and throttle body values
were also alledgedly included in the reprogram.

On to the problem.

When it starts, it idles fine. If I go from idle to WOT smooth and gradually then no problems. In fact I can bounce off the rev limiter if so desired. If I do it smoothly.

If I try to go from idle to WOT instantly then the motor stumbles and slight backfire occurs through the intake (The backfire doesn't happen every time but enough to know that it does it). If I hold the throttle wide open it takes a second and then it wakes up and we are off to the races. I have a scanner and I can read the values real time. I have a pressure guage on the rail and while running it averages somewhere around 37-38. What do I need to look for during the scan. The values seem to be in line with the GM service manual.

Here's a quick crappy vid of what it is doing. I'll try and take a better one tonight.