LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

95 LT1...I NEED HELP!!! (kinda long)

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2007, 01:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 LT1...I NEED HELP!!! (kinda long)

I've recently rebuilt my engine. It's a '90 Firebird w/ a '95 LT1/4L60E conversion. It's been bored/stroked to a 383 w/ ported/polished stock heads and CC503 cam. I have been using it for about 2 months. I have roughly 2k miles on the engine. It has a mail-order tune. Every part on the car is new. I purchased the Delteq while I was building the engine (to incorporate it into the build). So, I've had it longer than it's been used. I have a new Opti as well. Initially it started right up and had very crisp and accurate throttle response.

Now the problem has showed up recently. It barely wants to run while trying to start. It is missing/popping/backfiring while idling at a very low 400rpm. My IAC valve is maxed at 160. I checked and the valve is operational. If I crack the throttle blades open (tps still in spec), the IAC will back off to around 30-40 but it is still running very bad. If I give it over roughly 40% throttle, it seems to "clear" and the throttle is GREAT and runs STRONG. I would bet this means the plugs/wires/coils are all working. My MAP is reading low/high 70's at idle (even when at 800rpm). There is no vacuum leaks that I can see. I checked every hose. My plug gap is .050 w/ Autolite 104's. I am using Accel Extreme 9000 plug wires. Fuel pressure primes to 47 +/- and holds steady. So, I doubt it's fuel delivery. I don't know about bad gas. But up high it's a monster, so if the gas was bad, I think it'd be throughout.

The Opti-Box flashes with ignition and stays constant during cranking and when it finally is running (however bad it is, LED stays constant). I do not have any engine codes (Aside from occassional DTC 33, which is for the high MAP voltage due to low vacuum, due to the engine running so low.