LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Question about tuning

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2008, 09:44 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Question about tuning

alright well after i get this opti all lined out, my next purchase i want to get is the aldl obd1 cable for my car so i can mess around with it with my laptop... but the problem is, i am a noob to all that stuff tuning wise... i am good with computers, but im not so good on car numbers and that sort of thing lol.... so, if i did get that cable,
1.) would it be worth the purchase?
2.) is it hard to understand and learn about
3.) would anyone possibly help me understand more about it, or if i post the numbers up that my car reads could someone help me to get it to run better or something like that?

i would really like to start learning more about this, and hopefully i will be able to learn about all the info in the pcm, so that way i would be able to save money in the long run, both by not having to pay anymore to have my SES light because none of the auto parts stores around here have an obd1 scanner so i have to pay a mechanic just to pull the codes, and also i plan on getting some mods that would benefit from getting a tune, and if i can just do this myself it would be great
Old 04-23-2008, 08:49 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by squeals99
alright well after i get this opti all lined out, my next purchase i want to get is the aldl obd1 cable for my car so i can mess around with it with my laptop... but the problem is, i am a noob to all that stuff tuning wise... i am good with computers, but im not so good on car numbers and that sort of thing lol.... so, if i did get that cable,
1.) would it be worth the purchase?
2.) is it hard to understand and learn about
3.) would anyone possibly help me understand more about it, or if i post the numbers up that my car reads could someone help me to get it to run better or something like that?