LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

threw a code today P1371 help please!

Old 09-07-2008, 10:39 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default threw a code today P1371 help please!

P1371 - IC 4X Reference Circuit Too Few Pulses

is what the guide i found in this section told me the code was. i am no mechanical genius but i can navagate my way through the car well, does anyone know what this means thou? i dont even know where to start. the car has just been intermitently running a slight bit rough, and it flooded 2 times different days. please any advice would be great thanks!
Old 09-07-2008, 10:47 PM
TECH Fanatic

Opti code, either the opti is on its way out OR your opti harness just melted through.
Old 09-07-2008, 10:54 PM
12 Second Club

yea i just googled it too haah and found some stuff about the opti and harness, but my question is will be it real obvious is the harness is bad and exactly where is it located (sorry noob question)

because i just replaced my opti like 6-7k miles ago! and don't want to have to change that **** again!
Old 09-07-2008, 11:00 PM
TECH Fanatic

Definitely check that harness out first then, it comes off of the left side (when your looking straight at the engine from the front) of the opti and runs up from there to the left side of the intake manifold, and hooks into the main harness right there (with another clip, midway down the intake manifold on the left).

Either unplug it totally and take it out to inspect, or just expose the wires from the platic protectors and make sure they are all ok (not burnt/rubbed/corroded through). Also check the connectors on either end, you cant imagine how many rusty/corroded opti harness terminals I have seen cause problems.

And I think I asked you this before but... When you replaced the opti before, what kind of opti did you use?
Old 09-07-2008, 11:01 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts