Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Do it my self, or pay 250$??

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2008, 09:23 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do it my self, or pay 250$??

I've never done any work on a transmission before. I'm a little shaky on weather i should replace my clutch and flywheel my self, or if should pay a guy i know 250bucks to do it..... What do you guys think?
Old 11-07-2008, 09:27 PM
Staging Lane

if u know he will do a good job and u have the extra coin just pay. i helped my buddy change his clutch it wasnt that hard just time consuming and i just hate being under a car unless i have a lift....
Old 11-07-2008, 09:58 PM
On The Tree

ya thats a problem, i don't have a lift... about how long would it take, if i did have a lift?
Old 11-08-2008, 03:34 AM
DJB
12 Second club

A smooth clutch swap with no problems takes me about 4 hours on jack stands.
Old 11-08-2008, 09:21 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Despite having a lift, my first clutch change took me 6 hours to do. Subsequent transmission removals took 3-4 hours.

Have to take into account that not everything will want to come out cleanly or without a fight. Someone says 4 hours, plan double that, add the fact on jack stands maybe triple that as your ability to torque on a bolt is greatly reduced.

Tips on top of normal instructions:

I'd also drain the transmission as on your back its a very heavy piece that's oddly shaped for balance. Just carrying it alone standing is awkward, I can lift it but I'd compare it to trying to hold an old heavy CRT tube TV or monitor, which you have to hold a certain way to carry. So I'd get some kind of wheel cart that can hold it or transmission jack.

Getting to the top bolts are tricky, my method was to remove the y-pipe for more clearance and tilt the powertrain down.