Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

T56 clutch disengagement issue: please read before skipping over. I have searched

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2013, 07:29 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default T56 clutch disengagement issue: please read before skipping over. I have searched

So long story short. Lt1 t56 car got hard to shift one day. Noticed master was leaking inside car. Replaced it and then slave cylinder and then replaced both again this time with a slave that has a bleeder. Ever since I have a great pedal but fully depressed the wheels still spin in any gear. So I got an adjustable master. Adjusted a little at a time with no difference until finally the clutch fork is hitting the pressure plate because of overextending. But even right before it starts hitting the pp the wheels still spin. How is this possible. Clutch and pp and throw out all have less than 12000 on them. Have even pulled trans and put back in. Checked the bolt and clip that holds the clutch fork on and made sure its fully pressed into throw out bearing. I have read similar problems but no solutions. And how could I be pushing the clutch fork far enough to hit the pp but still not disengage the clutch. Also clutch worked fine until stock master failed. This car has been setting since November on jack stands. Please help.
Old 02-25-2013, 10:18 PM
jmd
TECH Addict

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

A thicker flywheel, thicker disc, or differently dimensioned PP components narrow the already narrow window for range of motion the fork has. Correct action would be to correct the clutch component dimensions to stock. Milling the pivot tee base might work though.
Old 02-25-2013, 10:47 PM
Teching In