Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Adjustable master cylinders

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2013, 04:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adjustable master cylinders

hey all, so Im having my clutch slave and master cylinder replaced right now and I have a couple questions, first off am I paying too much? Im not paying for any clutch parts only for the removal and reinstallation of the clutch + the cost of the slave and master + the installation of the slave and master. Theyre charging me $1100. sound about right?

Secondly, I have a ram adjustable master cylinder in there now and Im not quite sure if I need an adjustable or what the benefits are of having one. Its a Southbend stage 2 clutch.

Thanks for the help!
Old 11-26-2013, 04:46 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 87 Likes on 78 Posts

what kind of car?

you don't need to remove the clutch to replace a MC & slave. They may be removing the clutch to inspect to determine if it is causing your issue. if it is more than 1/2 wrn out, replace it as the job is not small and since you are a point & pay guy...will save $ from doing it later

if a LS car the transmission needs to be removed to replace slave/TO bearing.

you could call around qualified shops and get quotes for the work you describe and compare.

parts=x$ + labor x $labor per hr x how many hrs=$1100...fill in the "x" part

are they giving you a part and labor breakdown and what brand parts. are they replacing them with?
Old 11-26-2013, 05:00 PM