Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Help on quote for T56 Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2014, 09:52 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Help on quote for T56 Rebuild

Hey all, I'm a bit of newb when it comes to trans repair work on the 4th Gen F-Bodies. All my experience is with the 2nd gens transmissions.

Took my 2002 TA to a shop and they are quoting me $1800 for a full rebuild. Seems high compared to prices I saw advertised at Tick etc...

They said the primary reason the quote was high was because the main shaft was damaged which after more discussion they said really meant the splines were worn out where the 5th and 6th gears rings attach? They said the main shaft needed to be replaced and this was a $600-$700 part alone. I can do a little research on that but wanted to mention it here. He also talked about a bearing kits and some other things.

The TA has just over 100k miles on it and the trans/clutch has never had any service work performed other than fluid changes.

So my questions are:

Is this actually a common problem? He stated he has had to replace the main shaft on every T-56 he's ever rebuilt and that its a common problem.

If that is the case is that quote for a rebuild comparable to what others have seen?

The trans is out of the car at this point. Would my money be better spent shipping the trans off to Tick or comparable other shop?

Thanks all.
Old 07-31-2014, 10:08 AM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If I were you I'd call Tick or RPM and discuss this with those guys on the phone. This way you get direct answers from the guys who do this on a daily basis and you don't have to wait for someone on the forum to respond, not to mention hope that they give you sound advice and information.
Old 07-31-2014, 10:12 AM
jmd
TECH Addict

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts