Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

What to replace stock clutch with?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2005, 12:20 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to replace stock clutch with?

My clutch is going out on me. My SS is a 98 with 77K miles on it. I don't race it all, it's my cruiser. However, I couldn't resist modding the car with exhuast, shorty headers (I live in CA), lowering springs, and basic bolt-ons. Anyways, my question here is what upgrades can I do to the clutch if I dont want to go back to the stock clutch? I am fairly new to upgrading clutches and being the hot rodder that I am, I don't want to replace the stock clutch with a stock one unless I have to. I don't want anything too crazy but something thats better than stock. ANy suggestions would be extremely helpful!
Old 07-18-2005, 12:35 PM
Launching!

Originally Posted by he98ss
My clutch is going out on me. My SS is a 98 with 77K miles on it. I don't race it all, it's my cruiser. However, I couldn't resist modding the car with exhuast, shorty headers (I live in CA), lowering springs, and basic bolt-ons. Anyways, my question here is what upgrades can I do to the clutch if I dont want to go back to the stock clutch? I am fairly new to upgrading clutches and being the hot rodder that I am, I don't want to replace the stock clutch with a stock one unless I have to. I don't want anything too crazy but something thats better than stock. ANy suggestions would be extremely helpful!
I'm having the same problem with my clutch right now and I'm going with a RAM Powergrip HD...you might opt not to go for the HD yourself, as the non-HD version is more streetable...I'm also replacing the hydraulics (which is actually the main cause of my problem, not the clutch itself) because our 98s suck in that realm. I will likely post my results upon completion of the install; wish I had an actual product opinion to give you right now.