Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

reverse trouble

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2006, 09:02 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default reverse trouble

hey guys ive been doing some searching and cant really find any post on the problem im having.i got a 2000 z28 m6 and the reverse is really tricky if u dont get it just right it will pop out of gear.if u push agianst the gear hard before u push the clutch in that will get it to work most of the time.all the other gears work just fine i no its not right and im worried it might become a bigger problem.im a noob and dont really no anything about trannys so any info you have would help me out alot thanx.
Old 01-22-2006, 11:00 PM
Teching In

I wouldn't worry about this to awful much. I have a 97 with the 6 speed and its been doing the EXACT same thing you described since I bought it. Where you have to push it in to get it to not pop out. A 2001 I test drove also did the same exact thing. I've heard of this happening on other T56 applications and they said it wasnt to out of the ordinary.
Old 01-22-2006, 11:09 PM
11 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

You're right it isn't normal.

I had the same problem with mine. I would put it into reverse and it would pop out. I would have to slowly let the clutch out and wait for it to "kick" and then I could leave it in gear without having to worry about it popping out. If I didn't play with it right I would "grind" the "gears" (more like the synchros).

I never did fix it, it's still sitting in my garage. I ended up buying a new tranny that needed to be rebuilt and ran through it. If you want to fix it yourself you're in luck. The reverse assembly is in the tailshaft of the tranny and is REALLY easy to get to. If I'm not mistaken you need to replace the reverse synchros.

I think I have some pictures of the assembly from my rebuild you're interested.
Old 01-22-2006, 11:35 PM
Teching In