Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

C5 clutch install

Old 01-23-2006, 06:11 PM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default C5 clutch install

I am an f body guy but I have a friend that needs a clutch put in his z06. I understand it is really invloved and you have to remove the rear end and the torque tube and all kinds of other crap to get it out. So just how bad it is to do? I work in a shop so I work on cars all day I just don't see any vett's to know how bad it is. If I do this I will doing it at my house where I have a pit to work from. I know he got charged $900 to have that last one put in. so I realize this isn't going to be easy but just how bad? Any input would be awesome
Old 01-24-2006, 07:23 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by dschmittie1
I am an f body guy but I have a friend that needs a clutch put in his z06. I understand it is really invloved and you have to remove the rear end and the torque tube and all kinds of other crap to get it out. So just how bad it is to do? I work in a shop so I work on cars all day I just don't see any vett's to know how bad it is. If I do this I will doing it at my house where I have a pit to work from. I know he got charged $900 to have that last one put in. so I realize this isn't going to be easy but just how bad? Any input would be awesome

In my opinion,....it is a shitty adventure.

It's probably the only thing I didn't like doing on my car. I work on cars everyday as well,...access to pretty much anything gm as far as takeing the cars apart.....all the tools you would need...lifts...air....help.....it still took me HOURS to get this done at my work.

H or x pipe...remove
strap up rear mufflers so they hang
remove swaybar(rear)
remove tie roda, a arms, let them hang...
remove axles/halfshafts.....strap them UP...outta the way.
support the trans....