Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

4 hours of bleeding - no trans engagement (yes I searched)

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2006, 08:38 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 hours of bleeding - no trans engagement (yes I searched)

I have a 2001 LS1 motor in my 93Z. I finally started it up today and when pressing the clutch to the ground the trans won't go into gear. I started the car in gear with the pedal in the ground and the car will move slowly until I let off the pedal and then it will take off. If I want to shift I have to shut the car off and do the same thing. I got a master and slave off the board from a known good running car. The pedal is very soft to push down. This is how I bled it so far: 1ST I bled it just like a brake system - pump - push pedal - crack bleeder - and close. I got a pedal but still same problem. 2ND I used a mity vac sucking air from the resivoir with a tapered fitting in the hole - I saw air getting sucked up and I did this about 5 times and air won't stop and they are big bubbles too. Pedal feels good but still same problem 3RD I used the mityvac vacuum side on the slave cylinder and the fluid was getting sucked from the resivoir pretty quickly. I got a pedal but still no engagement. 4TH I took the line off the slave and put it in the resivoir with a pin holding the opening on the master open and bled the master using the clutch pedal and then bled the slave. still same thing. I spendt hours on this and it is pissing me off to no end. The clutch is bone stock (for now). What is going on? I miss the Lt1's pre bled system.
Old 01-29-2006, 08:58 PM
Staging Lane

Haha... i have the same exact problem and just posted a similar thread. When i start it in gear it does the same thing, it wont even budge when the car is running. Weird cuz i put my ls1 in my 95z, I wanna know what the problem is!!!!!
Dave
Old 01-29-2006, 10:58 PM
12 Second Club