Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Burning the Clutch

Old 02-18-2006, 12:36 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Burning the Clutch

When Im driving - since Im new to the M6 world- hell Manual world in general - it always smells like burnt clutch.

What I am asking for is tips on how to become a better driver and avoid going through my clutch quickly. The guy who I bought it from said he had everything involved with the clutch replaced about 2K miles ago and Im afraid Im gonna go through this one in a couple of weeks.

Thanks guys
Old 02-18-2006, 12:55 PM
10 Second Club

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

So you have clutch smell just driving it down the street? or is this when you are hard on the car and/or racing it? 2,000 miles is a very short time. there could be a chance he installed the clutch wrong or got grease or something on the flywheel or clutch disk that could make it slip all the time. normal driving you shold never experience clutch slipping or a burnt clutch smell.
Old 02-18-2006, 01:03 PM
TECH Regular

A friend who was with me said its because Im still learning how to drive Manual and Im not sure on the proper release of the clutch. Also said in a couple of days - when I drive better - it will be gone. When the guy drove it everything went smooth and no smell.
Old 02-18-2006, 01:09 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well my best advice to a new manual transmission driver. Instead of doing the common REV the hell out of it and slowly let up on the clutch. Let up on the clutch first then when you feel the car start moving give it a little gas. Over time you'll get a better feel.

These cars have enough torque where you could just let the clutch out without giving it any gas. You'll get a feel for it. Don't panic if you stall it either.
Old 02-18-2006, 01:15 PM
TECH Regular