Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Squeak while textralia clutch is engaging

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2006, 11:36 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Squeak while textralia clutch is engaging

Hey, I'm a lurker here on LS1tech. I've got a 02 Z28; bought it with a TEXTralia clutch and flywheel recently installed. There is about 1000 city miles on the new clutch. Ever since I bought it, the clutch will give a squeaking sound when it is engaging. I'm a noob when it comes to clutches, but the guy said it was squeaking because it was breaking in. It sounds like tires squealing just alot softer.

Well, the squeak hasn't stopped. It hasn't gotten worse either. A few people are telling me it is the pilot bearing, which wasn't replaced when the clutch and slave were installed. Others are telling me that it's just breaking in. What do you guys think? Should I rip the tranny out or should I wait till the squeak gets worse/better?

**EDIT**
SOLUTION ON POST #40

Last edited by FbodyAttraction; 11-13-2006 at 07:42 AM. Reason: edit stuff
Old 03-21-2006, 11:49 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Does it squeak when you have the clutch pedal fully depressed, or just while releasing the clutch? If it does it with the clutch fully depressed AND while the clutch is engaging and at no other time, then it might be the pilot bearing. If it only does it while releasing the pedal, then its probably not the pilot bearing, but just some friction between the clutch surfaces. Do you know what flywheel was installed? I think Peter could help you out better with this than I can.
Old 03-21-2006, 11:52 PM
Launching!

Originally Posted by Ferocity02