Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

How to set ADJ. master cylinder....

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2006, 02:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default How to set ADJ. master cylinder....

Hey everyone. I have an adjustable master cylinder. Its a black plastic piece...and Im not 100% sure if its a stocker modified or if its the RAM unit.

In any case...Im getting some weird engagment...and I would like to know how to set the master cylinder. The car is a swap car as many of you know...I left the setting alone from the 99 car...and installed it in my 87. I think I MAY have adjusted it out alittle bit. But I cant remember.

Here is the symptom that is making me think its not dis-engaging the clutch all the way. When in neutral, with the clutch to the floor, if I put it in first, it goes in ok. But the car will lurch ever so slightly forward. After the lurch nothing...doesnt try to creep or anything. Just a lurch. Like it will move with my shifter moving forward. Make sense?

I was thinking maybe the clutch wasnt all the way out. I rarely have shifting issues while driving...but sometimes I feel like its harder to get into gears thatn it should be. Mostly when downshifting to slow down or coming to a stop going into 1st.

Is there a procedure for adjusting the master??? Can I safely adjust it out some? I dont want to hurt the slave cylinder...or the master. Thats my main concern. Any advice on this??

Justin

P.S.... Its also a major pain in the butt to get under there, remove that "E" clip that is holding my clutch rod on the pedal. haha. So thats kind of why I was wondering if there was a procedure. Set it...and hope its correct sort of thing.
Old 11-09-2006, 02:47 PM
TECH Fanatic

If it helps...here is how the master looks. You can kind of see how far it travels by the mark on the rod. Bout an inch maybe? That was before I was driving it though...so Im not sure now.