Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Sticky First Gear

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008, 07:41 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sticky First Gear

Hey, so i've got a problem with either my transmission or hydraulic clutch. I have a 1999 Trans Am WS6 6 speed, and if i'm stopped with the car in neutral, it is really hard to get the car back into first gear. So every time i'm stopped, I push in the clutch, and try to put it in first gear, it's like something is blocking it (I can get it in if i push as hard as i can, but i don't like to do that because i'm pretty sure that's not good for it). I can get it in first if i push it forward towards first (it being blocked the first time), bring the stick back to neutral, then push it in again......then it goes in just fine. I'm a noob btw; i'm mechanically oriented, but i don't have much experience with the more complex parts of cars.

Also, i just got it back from the dealer (they were fixing some gear whine i was having) and they wanted to replace or rebuild the tranny, but i didn't have them do it. They changed the tranny fluid, and now the car is shifting much smoother, except for getting into first. Is this sticky first problem just the tranny being crappy, or is it something else?

Also #2 is that right before i brought the car into the dealer, one of my friends took a peek under the hood and saw that my hydraulic clutch reservoir/master cylinder was low (at the time, most the gears were fairly sticky). He put some more in, but he said that i might have to bleed the line before the new fluid would take effect (he's used to working on older cars, and isn't completely up to date on newer stuff). I didn't bleed the line because i don't know how, so could the problem be that my clutch isn't being pushed in far enough, and that is why first is sticking or would the dealer have fixed that if that was the problem?

Do you guys know what the problem is?