Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

SPEC HELP PLEASE (clutch noob)

Old 05-28-2008, 08:22 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SPEC HELP PLEASE (clutch noob)

What's up. Sorry, I'm a clutch noob. I have a problem and some questions. I purchased my car over a year ago and forgot which Spec clutch the original owner installed. Also, I know that my flywheel isn't stock but that's all I know about the flywheel. I do know that my clutch grabbed like a *****, and I LOVE it. So if I need a clutch replacement, I want a Spec again. That's first of all. My problem is my clutch lost it's bite over time and now it slips. But sometimes right before it slips I get a jack-hammering type of a vibration. Do I need a new clutch? I've abused this cutch with slipping it on purpose way too much so I wouldn't be surprised if I destroyed it. And if I have to replace anything, I want a new everything. But I'm not sure which setup is for me. I want an aggressive clutch that CLAMPS, but ofcourse something that is streetable. I have over 400rwhp, and drive it hard but no more 4,000 rpm dumps(maybe 3,000 ) Thanks for any help/advice.
Old 05-28-2008, 09:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

I'd go with the Spec 3+ kit. I've been running one for a couple of years with no issues. It will hold you power and still has good streetability.
Old 05-28-2008, 10:47 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by CW00BlackTA
I'd go with the Spec 3+ kit. I've been running one for a couple of years with no issues. It will hold you power and still has good streetability.
im with him
Old 05-29-2008, 05:52 AM
Teching In

Thanks. Which flywheel, Fidanza or Spec(steel or alum.)? My car does see 6,000 or so rpm's every now and then. I don't know if that matters. Sorry, I've been searching the ***** out of this on here, but I need to take care of this. It sucks driving with no throttle and granny shiftin.
Old 05-29-2008, 06:03 AM
TECH Fanatic