Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

OK... help with a spec 3

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2008, 03:45 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OK... help with a spec 3

I very recently bought a spec stg three clutch for my 00 trans am. driven maybe 2000 miles on it and also did a 600 mile break in on it. i did put the slave cylinder spacer in behind the slave cylinder. the clutch feels like its slipping but coming out of first easily, it slips a little and then grabs like a ****, kinda like when you come out of the clutch too soon. i have a stock master cylinder on it with the drill mod. i have had a slipping clutc hbefore and usually, it slowly and easily engages but with this one it jumps into gear. also when in a high gear like say, third or fourth at low rpms, when i floor it it shakes bad like chatter almost. but while driving down the highway. oh yea, and the pedal used to engage at the very bottom and now at the very top. could this be because of the slave cylinder spacer and it i removed it would it not do this anymore??? can anyone please help me with this?????
Old 07-18-2008, 09:23 AM
10 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Take out that shim. I had the exact same symptoms with my spec 3 when using the slave shim, took it out and it's great now. Your slave is too close to the pp fingers with that shim in place, preventing the clutch from engaging all the way. Sucks that you gotta drop the trans to take it out.
BTW, the spec 3 is a VERY grabby clutch due to it's pucked disc and friction material....it's an on/off sort of deal, no in between. Don't try to slip it or it'll be trashed in no time.
Old 07-18-2008, 09:48 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Yep!

Originally Posted by jmm98LS1
The spec 3+ is a VERY grabby clutch due to it's pucked disc and friction material....it's an on/off sort of deal, no in between.

Don't try to slip it or it'll be trashed in no time.