Military Hotrod Club For our members in the Armed Forces

Big developing issue to effect all branches, DADT (Dont ask dont tell) policy

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2010, 07:43 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Big developing issue to effect all branches, DADT (Dont ask dont tell) policy

I am a Paralegal by MOS in the US Army and have been doing it for over 15 years. With this job I have seen regulations change and updated, but this I would say would be the biggest change, if enacted, I have seen in my career. So I wanted to see how the other military hotrodders feel and think about this. Here is some info I have received through my leadership channels about the DADT policy and what is happening in the courts and services:

Judge orders 'don't ask, don't tell' injunction
Email Print By JULIE WATSON, Associated Press Writer Julie Watson, Associated Press Writer – 7 mins ago SAN DIEGO – A federal judge issued a worldwide injunction Tuesday stopping enforcement of the "don't ask, don't tell" policy, ending the U.S. military's 17-year-old ban on openly gay troops.

U.S. District Court Judge Virginia Phillips' landmark ruling was widely cheered by gay rights organizations that credited her with getting accomplished what President Obama and Washington politics could not.

U.S. Department of Justice attorneys have 60 days to appeal. Legal experts say they are under no legal obligation to do so and could let Phillips' ruling stand.

The federal government is reviewing the ruling and has no immediate comment, said Tracy Schmaler, spokesman for the Department of Justice.

Phillips declared the law unconstitutional after a two-week nonjury trial in federal court in Riverside and said she would issue a nationwide injunction. But she asked first for input from Department of Justice attorneys and the Log Cabin Republicans, the gay rights group that filed the lawsuit in 2004 to stop the ban's enforcement.