Multimedia Exchange Videos | Sound Clips | Photos | Photoshop

How to create a sig pic tutorial

Old 05-24-2007, 10:34 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Tutorial- How to create a sig pic

How to make a signature pic using Adobe Photoshop

I’ve recently heard a few people in the forums asking for a tutorial for making sig pictures. I started learning how to create them by simply fooling around with the program. I’ll illustrate some techniques I’ve learned here so that anyone with some patience and a little talent can put one together themselves using Photoshop.

I will be using Adobe Photoshop CS2, but as most current versions of Photoshop are quite similar; there will not be much deviation if you are using an older version. I’ll go over basic steps for a sig creation, but the more advanced editing features will have to be learned by simply experimenting with the program.

Your first step should be collecting your images. Take some good high-resolution photos of your ride using a digital camera. (A great photography tutorial written by Josh99TA is stickied at the top of the multimedia section.)

Next, think of a theme you would like to use. For instance in my example, I want to express the image of speed and horsepower. Therefore I want to get some images that convey that. (Example: a speedometer, checkered flag, mechanical drawings, racetrack, etc.) gather some other images you would like to use in your sig. You don’t have to use all of them, just go to Google images, and search for images you think would look good and relate to your theme.

Okay, I’ve gathered a pic of my car:

And a few found using Google images:

Now that I’ve got the images I want to use, lets fire up Photoshop and create a blank canvas with the prescribed LS1Tech.com dimensions of 500 pixels wide by 150 pixels high. Go to File>New and set your dimensions: