New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Swapping From L36 to LS1

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2010, 01:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Swapping From L36 to LS1

Ok, First off, I would like to say, this is my first post on this forum, I was recommended here by a friend. Ok, Now I am a pretty big noob when it comes to cars, I know how to change oil and things like that, lol. I know what cams are, and exhaust and all that, (I'm not a complete idiot, lol)

Now I have a 98' Firebird with the L36 V6 and I am pretty sure that is has some aftermarket street tuning to it, I'm not sure because I got this car used at a car lot as my graduation gift.

First things first, I want to do an engine swap, (V6 to the LS1). I don't want to go with any other engine other than the fuel injected LS1 just because that is what I prefer, I don't know why, but it is, lol.

I was wondering how hard is it to do this, or if it would just be better for me to take the engine (And no, I don't have it just yet, I'm still trying to find one), and my car to a garage and have them do it for me.

Also, what all parts am I going to have to get to complete the swap, (ecu, wiring harness, exhaust manifold, etc).

And if I do decide to go ahead and do the swap myself, is there a post on here that gives a basic step-by-step as to how to do the swap. Yet again, I am a noob. But if I would go ahead and just do the swap myself, I will be having a friend help me that went to UTI, so it won't be a huge walk in the dark, he just suggested that I try to find a forum to help me out, that way we have an understand as to how to get this done.