Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

700hp Daily Driver?

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2010, 11:02 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 700hp Daily Driver?

Ok, so at the risk of sounding like a total noob I'll finally post this thread. Technically I kinda am a noob, but am 23, have been really into cars since I was about 15 or 16 and am currently finishing up my last semester of college to get my bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering and have took a bunch of engines class and am currently outfitting a dyno cell with a group for alternative fuel testing on diesel engines. So I know a little bit, but never the less, even though I've reasearched and read all the stickies I can't find clear answers to my questions.

I havn't been posting on here cause I've been a dirt poor college kid so I havn't had any money to do anything to my car but now I finally have a job lined up and will be graduating so I will have a little bit of funds to try make my dreams a reality. I think it is best to go at things like this with a defined plan of action instead of just adding bolt ons and things with no rhyme or reason as you get the money, and then changing your mind and having to replace parts later. I've done this on other projects and been out money because I bought things that in the end I didn't need.

Anyhow, enough with the pointless rambling. The qualities I want this car to have when I get done with this are:

1. 700-750whp
2. AC and all "creature comforts" still in tact
3. Still get "decent" highway fuel milleage (Like 20mpg would be awesome)
4. Be dependable enough to be a daily driver, and be able to take it out and rip on it a little without having to really worry that much about breaking. Also, be able to drive it to the track, run a couple really nice passes, and then drive it home with the ac blowing cold air and the stereo blasting.
5. Do this all in the most cost effective (not to be read cheap) way possible while still doing it right