New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 Camaro vs LS1 Corvette

Old 10-18-2011, 09:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS1 Camaro vs LS1 Corvette

Okay, I'll start off with I know this topic has probably been covered a billion times on here, and I've read through some of people opinions, facts, etc already. The next thing, I'm rather new to LS1s and don't know a lot about them, and haven't yet owned one. I had a 351 swapped 90 Mustang that I sold and would now like to get into an LS1. BUT HERE IS MY QUESTION. I am looking at a few vehicles, such as '99 FRC Corvette 55k miles manual, '02 Camaro SS 42k miles auto, and some others like it. I like Corvettes a little better, but not sure if it's really worth it to spend the extra money with little difference in the drive train. So I ask YOU GUYS to help me choose what I would like to get. Let me know the facts you know or opinions on the different vehicles, or possibly recommendations on something different. Advantages/disadvantages. I would also like your opinions on auto/manual choice. I would like a manual, but could easily live with an auto.

Anyhow, please let me know anything that could help me search and in the end my purchase! Anything and everything is appreciated! Thanks!!

Jake
Old 10-18-2011, 09:32 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Even though the Corvette has the same powertrain, it feels like a completely different car. The simplest way I can put is that the Corvette feels like a true sports car, much tighter, precise and agile. A Camaro or Trans Am just feels a lot more raw, they feel more like a real muscle car. Performance wise, stock for stock, the edge goes to the Corvette obviously. But the F-Body's are really not far behind at all, and when you start modding them, they even out even more.
Old 10-18-2011, 09:40 PM

Originally Posted by TransAmWS.6