Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

High Mile LS1 Rebuild for a road course car

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2012, 09:25 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High Mile LS1 Rebuild for a road course car

Hi guys, this is my first post here. I bought a 2000 FRC Corvette with a stock LS1 back in May. The car is track only, I take it to road courses like NJ Motorsports park, etc. Just track days this year, maybe go racing in NASA ST2 next year if I can get a cage in it. Anyway, the car now has 114k miles on it, and about 6k track miles. It runs good, burns about a quart of oil over the course of a weekend, and makes good power. I had an oil analysis done by blackstone and everything came back great. I currently short shift the car at 5500 rpms as I really don't know the internal condition of the motor. I'm a complete noob to cars, though I've been building one off custom motorcycles for about 5 years. My plan next month is to start tearing into this engine to freshen it up for next season, and make a bit more power. Reliable power is key here. I also do not have easy access to a lift, so if possible I want to leave it in the car. I would like to do a heavy duty timing chain, ported oil pump, and springs at the minimum. If compression checks out ok, maybe a mild cam but I need to research that some more as I know nothing about it. LT headers are on the wish list but money is tight so I'll have to see. I also have a Z06 clutch sitting here, and I'd like to do a lightweight aluminum flywheel. What else should I check? Any suggestions are appreciated. I ordered a few books on the subject, and there seems to be a ton of info here. Looking forward to this project!
Old 08-31-2012, 10:55 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts