Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noob LS inquiries?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2012, 11:26 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Noob LS inquiries?

Ok guys Im a GM noob I know some things about cars but this is uncharted territory for me. I have some Ls questions that people I know cant answer or I dont trust what they are saying because it doesnt sound like what I know to be true about most engines. The first is I have a 69 Camaro that I recently purchased, the car has a new 350 with a fresh muncie 4spd. I havent really driven the car yet because it wasnt quite complete (its in the shop now getting panels welded and is due to be out this week) however I got the car with the intent of putting an ls in it. I have a few question,I know to a point what an ls1 and ls2 are but I read about the lq9 motors and that kind of confused me. What are the major differences and price ranges they go for? I thought I wanted an LS2 because the LS1 wasnt good enough in my mind but after reading some threads the LS1 seems like the best option and can get lots of power easily. Also it seems like once I do the conversion going to the LS2 or a different motor in the family would be an easier install. The second thing is mileage, I always thought I wanted an LS with under 50k on the motor for durability reasons. The LS guys I know all insist that changing heads and cam on any LS is nearly like rebuilding the motor and no matter the miles all LS motors will last a long time. I dont know if I can trust that old motors bottom end is the part to be concerned with so it only seems logical that a newer motor would have similar properties. Also when buying an LS how can you determine if the mileage is accurate to what the seller is saying? I have seen a few LS motors I want but I am afraid they could have really high miles. I deduced myself the only thing I could do is buy one thats still in the car to determine the motors condition. Is this really a big deal or am I a worry wart?