New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

In over my head?

Old 02-13-2014, 08:59 PM
Staging Lane

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default In over my head?

What up guys... LS newbie here with a few questions.

I am planning an LS swap into my Mustang. I am starting to gather up some stuff and had the realization I'm might in over my head. Figured I'd stop in here for a little advice before I end up just throwing money away. I bought a 5.3 longblock out of a Trailblazer for $200 a while back. The aluminum block/heads was the sales pitch to me. Bare longblock with no ECU, wiring, or accessories and it does need a re-ring and should be good to go (or so I'm told). I have started shopping around for rebuild kits and wiring harnesses with ECUs and am seeing complete running engines in places for $500-$700. Just in my quick math, I see least $500-$700 easily going into my $200 engine for a rebuild and getting everything I need to get it running and hope it'll need nothing else. I guess my questions start here.

Should I bail out of the 5.3 I have now and opt for something else that's already running and complete?

I've also read that you need model specific ECU and harnesses for the engine you have. Any truth to that?

I'm just trying to get the car into running order again and trying to not blow a ton of money doing so. I honestly just wasn't thinking at the time I bought the engine of how much extra stuff that I'd need to go along with what I bought.

Thanks in advance guys...
Old 02-14-2014, 01:53 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts