Sponsored by:

LQ4 problem, broke-through head water jacket

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2015, 03:14 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ4 problem, broke-through head water jacket

Hello, I'm new, I live near Raleigh NC.
I'm a college student going for Mech Engr.
My only automobile engine work comes from a 1st gen S10 where I replaced the 2.8 60V6 with a crate 3.4 60V6 and had the intake bored out to take a 4.3 TB as well as modified the 4.3 TB to accept the 2.8 accessories. cleaned up the engine side of the truck and made a couple other small modifications.

On with my problem...
I have an H2 so from what I understand it is a LQ4 with aluminum 317 heads.
About 10k miles ago I had an exhaust manifold bolt break on the passenger side(no noise), I easily unscrewed the broke bolt using vise grips as it was still sticking out of the head, everything was good. Fast forward a month ago the driver side started making a ticking noise, all 6 bolt heads were still in place, without applying very much torsion 3 broke, 2 in the head, one still sticking out.
I didn't want to deal with the problem as I had exams going on and other obligations, so I sent it to a local mechanic. That turned out to be a very bad decision, the guy hit the water jacket twice, used an epoxy to try to seal the hole etc. It lasted about 1-2 weeks, I've tried high temp permatex to seal the leak(didn't work), but I'm not going to continue to bandaid this.

The head and exhaust manifold must be replaced, Maybe after college I will do performance engine work but as for now I'm more concerned about the truck performing reliably and well under all conditions.

In my mind it's not possible to replace just one head due to problems with differing compression on the two sides. However a very experienced engine builder has (hesitantly) said it would be ok to put a brand new(from GM) head in place of the messed up head.