New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3L, needing some advice.

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2015, 03:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3L, needing some advice.

100% noob here. Just looking for a nice setup for a 5.3L. The motor came out of a 2003 silverado, roughly 100k on it. Going into a 1995 silverado 4x4 that I will be picking up for hardly anything. I have read hundreds of comments, and just need pushed in the right direction. I'd say my max budget is $2500. Would like to see maybe 400hp.
I do not know what type of heads are on the motor yet, but if they are clean I'm just going to keep them.
I plan on a cam, intake, fuel rails, larger throttle body, lifters.
Wish I knew more about engines, but I dont, this will be a learning experience for me. I'm not sure if I'll need to replace push rods, rockers, springs if I'm going to replace my cam. I don't want a real crazy "lopey" sounding cam. Just something like a stock corvette would have.
Anyways, what you you guys recommend as a set up for me? Any advice will be considered. Thank you in advance.

5.3L going in this truck.
Old 05-21-2015, 09:29 PM
TECH Enthusiast

looks like a good project. whats wrong with just putting in as is. definitely have better power than sbc did with throttle body injection. if really want a cam i would call a cam company tell them what your doing. truck rv cam probably what you want. leave the truck intake on there. it has better torque curve for heavy truck. just shave the ugly off it. look it up on u-tube they look good when finished and it wont cost u if do it yourself.
Old 05-22-2015, 01:11 AM