Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98-02 ls1

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2017, 03:34 PM
TECH Regular

Received 29 Likes on 22 Posts
Default 98-02 ls1

So I am making the switch selling my mustang and buying a 98-02 trans am or camaro have not made up my mind on which but I have always loved the body style and have nothing bad to say about the ls1 motor, I would like to get the car down into the low 11's high 10's without a power adder or spray, Ive been doing the racing thing for awhile so I know how important suspension is, im just curious on what I have to do to the motor to get it there btw the car will be an auto
Old 02-08-2017, 04:15 PM
12 Second Club

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Heads and cam.
Big Stall if its an auto.
Gears if its manual. (A new rear end most likely)
Sticky Tire.
Maybe a little weight reduction
Old 02-08-2017, 04:22 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

don't get a 98 unless it's a really good deal. Lots of improvements in 99+. I'm not an expert so do some searching regarding the differences.
Old 02-08-2017, 04:34 PM
TECH Regular

Right on, so ill avoid the 98's already planned on building a rear end ive herd how weak the rear end is on these cars
Old 02-08-2017, 04:36 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 345 Likes on 237 Posts

Originally Posted by tberg725
Right on, so ill avoid the 98's already planned on building a rear end ive herd how weak the rear end is on these cars
Nothing wrong with 98's.

The 10 bolt will last just fine behind a auto
Old 02-08-2017, 04:39 PM
On The Tree

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts