New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Opinions on cam/converter at 133k miles???????

Old 10-06-2015, 09:30 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Opinions on cam/converter at 133k miles???????

I'm not really a newbie but didn't know where to post this. I have 99 t/a with full boltons(stock heads) ls6 intake other typical boltons/ 3:23 gear. I Plan on tranny rebuild/yank 3600. I was also thinking of doing the newera cam package(street sweeper) . Car has 133k on it with all maintance kept up. I know I'm good with converter after tranny rebuild but what do you guys think about the cam with my miles? Do you think a 11.9 would be possible with this combo? I ran car only once on street tires nt555 (12.9. 2.17 60ft at 109mph) I know I'd need dr's for sure with just converter. Thx

Last edited by ironmikektm525; 10-06-2015 at 09:37 PM.
Old 10-07-2015, 06:31 PM
12 Second Club

miles is a very subjective way to look at wear , it really depends how hard or easy those miles have been.

As for your 11.9 goal you surely don't need a cam for that, many stock internals full weight bolt on cars have been 11's with more miles than you have on them...

my 245,000 mile m6 stock internal full weight partial bolt on car went 11.9 when it had approx. 215k on it , my 3600 stalled a4 stock internals full weight partial bolt on 174k mile car went 12.1 but had a fuel starvation issue- it will crack 11's next time , I do wish it was a 4k stall though so think about that...

Your in NY so like myself you have plenty of opportunities spring & fall to race in negative DA , stall that bitch , add the good dr's your planning on run in good da and see how close you are , your 109 trap is good for mid/ low 12's as you stood the 1 time you took it to the track.
Old 10-07-2015, 06:46 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts