New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine noise -need help!! Video incd.

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2015, 12:16 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine noise -need help!! Video incd.

2000 TA 101xxx miles,mostly stock aside from suspension mods and a catback. I have been dealing with this noise for awhile now. It's gotten quite a bit louder lately. I post here because I am a novice working on my car. I have learned quite a bit in the last two years. If this post is better suited for another section please tell me. This noise is a scrape/tick sound . I've changed pushrods , a few seemed bent. Actually about half were slightly bent . Anyway this noise is all the time, it's rpm dependent, but doesn't really get louder just quicker. Disappears at 1800-2000 rpm. Wide open throttle no problem. Oil consumption isn't much more than it always has been, about 1-1&1/4 quarts every 3000 miles. I need to know what direction to go with this. I went back to 0w40 castrol after 5w30 and the noise got louder. Tomorrow I'm going to run it with the valve covers off and see what I can narrow down. I will do whatever I have to do within reason. If a teardown is in my future can I do it myself without any physical assistance? Sorry about video quality but its the sound that matters.

Last edited by celtsean; 11-11-2015 at 12:35 AM.
Old 11-11-2015, 10:54 AM
On The Tree

Sorry about the somewhat poorly written post. I was a bit tired last night. I just need a little help in which direction to go. Oil pressure is fine, about 35psi totally hot. I was told the noise is likely lifters, but it doesn't sound like that to me. The scrape part of the sound throws me off.
Old 11-11-2015, 11:00 AM
TECH Addict

Received 27 Likes on 21 Posts