New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1999 Camaro z28 LS1 Newbie questions (Oil/Fluids)

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2016, 01:27 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 Camaro z28 LS1 Newbie questions (Oil/Fluids)

So I recently just purchased a 99 z28 with an automatic transmission. its mostly stock. Im new to this whole muscle car thing. So when i bought the car i had to replace the Oil pan gasket. while it was leaking, the oil pressure gauge read 40 and went a little higher. Now that i replaced the Oil pan gasket the oil pressure sits a little above 40 when it idles.But when i give it gas it goes a little lower then 40 but it kinda just dances around from 40 to a little under to a little bit higher. it never stays in one place. maybe thats a dumb question but where should it be at? and should it be dancing around that much? i check the oil dipstick and it looked about right. i have a piece of wood sitting under the car to see if it still leaks and theres still oil on it but the oil looks nasty and dirty. the mechanic told me to get it steam cleaned because theres a bunch of oil built up all underneath my car so im guessing that nasty oil dripping is from the old built up oil. But now I see transmission fluid dripping too. I checked the dipstick on trans fluid and it looks right too. they told me it could be the pan or the output shaft seal. How serious is this problem? My transmission was recently rebuilt aswell. Will i be fine driving my car around? or should i put it away till its fixed? i dont race or do burnouts or anything like that but i Know leaking fluids is something that must be taken care of.
Old 07-23-2016, 02:07 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

With the LS1 (and if I remember the LT1) the oil pressure jumps all over the place depending on if you are in neutral/gear or engine speed. It's normal to see the gauge moving about.