New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS Tech Newbie, Looking for Advice !?!?!?

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2016, 11:09 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS Tech Newbie, Looking for Advice !?!?!?

Hey guys, I'm new to the LS world and I don't know a whole lot about building a LS Hybrid. My planned build is a Hyundai Genesis Coupe that will have between 350 - 375 HP and similar numbers for torque. I have checked out the thread on the Genesis Hybrid and that's really what go me interested in the idea.

I've got a line right now on a L33 block with OE ECU and wiring harness, and as expected the engine will need some work done at a machine shop.

What sorts of things am I looking for about the engine that would be deal breakers or non-starters?

What sorts of things am I looking to tell an engine shop in order to get the engine ready for heads and manifolds? I'm looking to put on a set of LS6 heads and intake manifold. (any better ideas are also welcome) What would be an average bill that I would look to see coming from the shop to get the work done. (understanding that it will depend on what work needs to be done)

I figure that's a good jumping off point for this thread and I hope that it will get lots of publicity. No advice is bad advice when you're new to the game I guess.

Cheers
Old 11-08-2016, 12:36 PM
Restricted User

Received 104 Likes on 87 Posts

If it needs machine work, I would just look for a different engine.
You can usually buy a running LS engine for the cost of typical machine work.
For example, the 4.8 going in my vette was a complete running pullout with wiring/ecu, all accessories, manifolds, starter, and flexplate for $350. Deals do pop up if you have a couple of months to wait for them.