Sponsored by:

LS1 Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2017, 10:29 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS1 Rebuild

Hey guys

I'm looking for a lil advice and tips on rebuilding my LS1 in my 2000 Trans Am. I'm a resident of FT Worth TX and I've had a few problems trying to find either a trusted shop or a shop that has time to rebuild this engine for me with out trying to rip me apart for something that's a recreational 3rd vehicle for me. I'm mostly looking to get an idea on what all parts I'll need and what are some decent upgrades I'd like to go with cam, headers and exhaust can someone point me in the direction on which brands to go with that are easy on the pocket. I'm not looking to build a race car just want to have a fresh reliable car with some power and sound nasty that one time a week I'll drive it. And what all should be included on an LS1 rebuild? It has a 148k miles all stock t-top automatic pretty decent car just want to add more to it. If anyone knows any local shops in the DFW area please let me know. I've been quoted $1700 already not looking to price match just want the best for my car. Thanks
Old 01-09-2017, 06:44 AM
Restricted User

Received 104 Likes on 87 Posts

Why does it need a rebuild?
If its been taken care of and runs great, the mileage is almost irrelevant.

$1700 for a removal and rebuild is not a bad price.
Old 01-09-2017, 01:09 PM
Teching In

I just would like it to be rebuilt. The previous owner didn't take as good of care of it as I would have and I'm just picky about my cars. I've always wanted a built up nice f-body. It runs and drives but nothing exciting if you know what I mean it could use the rebuild.
Old 01-09-2017, 01:17 PM
Restricted User

Received 104 Likes on 87 Posts

Up to you. Unless there is an actual problem, no sense in rebuilding it.