New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Motor swap with no mechanical experience?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2017, 03:47 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor swap with no mechanical experience?

is it possible?

people are telling me to start small but.....comme on man
Old 03-15-2017, 04:12 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm a Union Plumber and did a full Bolton with a ms3 cam Lq9 swap. Tons of information on here.
Old 03-16-2017, 07:50 AM
Teching In

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Is it possible? Yes.

Should you? That's another question and it depends on more than just a willingness to try. Do you have access to the knowledge? Has your particular swap been done before? Is it just a remove and replace or are you modifying things? Do you have an appropriate work area? Do you have the time? Do you know how much time it should take? (Well double that and maybe triple if you've never done it before.) Do you have the right tools? Anybody willing to help you out or give direction? Do you have the skill? Do you know lefty-loosey, righty-tighty? Is it worth it with time and pride of doing it yourself out weighing the time and cost of paying some-one? (If it is just a "R and R" job you can probably get it done in a day or two for around 500-600 dollars.) Plus it will cost more for someone to rescue you from the middle of a mess than to do it from start to finish.

These are just a few of the questions you should ask yourself and if you are okay with your answers then go for it. You learn from doing and IMO this is a worthwhile thing to know.
Old 03-16-2017, 12:04 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

My advice is similar to the above.

1. Is this a DD or a car you rely on in some way and need back up in a certain time frame?

2. Do you have a decent work area, that Is indoors and can be easily secured for the night and returned to on your own time?