Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

beat it up???

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2006, 12:19 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default beat it up???

hey im new to the ls1 i have had it three months now and ive been pretty mean to it. its got 88,000 on it i got it with 85k and ive been through 8 rear tires already. just curious what kind of beating these cars will take, gotta add that my car was an old womans car and she didnt beat it up at all, when i got it it was bone stock EVERYTHING!! why do these cars sound so clicky and nasty when theyre cold im scared to drive it when its cold it kinda sounds like there aint no oil in it when its cold, or maybe piston slap til it warms up????? let me know how bad you've beaten yours and if the stock motor is still runnin i hear they really take abuse.
Old 01-22-2006, 12:33 PM
TECH Enthusiast

4 sets of rear tires in 3k... Are you spinning tire at every take-off? What kind of tires?
Old 01-22-2006, 12:35 PM
On The Tree

id like to see what kind of response you get cuz im the same. i just got a 2002 t/a ws6 and it does the same thing. it sounds like maybe a rockerarm needs adj. or something. but youre right, it does it till it warms up then it sounds ok but even then it still does it a little.
Old 01-22-2006, 12:35 PM
On The Tree

Isn't there a organization like DCFS for LS1 cars?
Old 01-22-2006, 12:40 PM
On The Tree

ive heard that changing over your exhaust to what you want is not a good idea. the engine is tuned to run its best with the cats and y-pipe duel into single. you may lose horsepower if you convert it that way. i got my info from summitt racing web site cuz i was thinking about doing the same thing
Old 01-22-2006, 12:41 PM
TECH Resident

thats funny........ ive had 4 sets of toyo proxes on the back
Old 01-22-2006, 12:42 PM
TECH Resident

thats why you get it tuned
Old 01-22-2006, 12:49 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by bobodog