New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

driving from iowa to southern california... Any tips/advice?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2006, 01:30 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default driving from iowa to southern california... Any tips/advice?

yep its my first time driving her cross country. and im really worried. like w/ over heating rain snow uphill battles and all that nasty travelling stuff. so i need some advice fellas. any will be appreciated. its an 1800 mile trip. 28 hours of driving. im thinking driving 14 hours straight before i get a hotel. what do u all think bout pushin her 14 hours? what would ya all do if you were in my shoes? thanks dudes
Old 10-19-2006, 01:46 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I would def drive it. If it's well maintained and everything, it's like a normal car. It won't overheat or break down. just slow up in rain or snow. Just change the oil before you leave and you should be perfect. Driving across country in these cars is awesome.
Old 10-19-2006, 01:51 PM
12 Second Club

How many miles are on it? if it gets you around town no problem then it will have no problems on the highway. Just keep the rpms down and youll be fine. Oh yea oil and air filter would be good to do.

Why you goin out to Cali?
Old 10-19-2006, 07:46 PM
TECH Apprentice

I moved to cali 2 years ago, live there now just came here to iowa to visit my family and to buy a car (cheaper in iowa and well maintained as opposed to california) shes got 49,072 miles on her. she runs mint. shes sweet as heck. i thought bout an oil change etc. but i had pontiac check her out 4 days ago and they said shes mint and her oil was clean and he suggested i change it when i get to california. what do ya think? i bought her at 48,402 miles 2 1/2 weeks ago. and havent changed the oil since purchase... what do u think? thanks bros
Old 10-19-2006, 08:01 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts