Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What mods for 25k

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2007, 10:09 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default What mods for 25k

I have finally graduated college, gotten a job and saved up some money to get my car back on the road again. My car hasn't been legal or driven much in ~3 years. I couldn't afford the insurance, gas, tires, ect while in college so to keep it I just stored it.

I'm making this post to get advice on what way I should go with building my car up. I bought a Vortech supercharger kit years ago back before I went to college but I never had the money to have it installed. I've sold that kit but I still have dreams of going FI. Now I can do all the work to the car. I went to an automotive college and I have been working in a dealership for ~6 months. I'm no expert but I shouldn't have any problem as long as I don't have to fab stuff up. In other words labor doesn't need to be considered in my price range.

My "dream" is to have 800+rwhp in a street car, 10's on drag radials, Full weight+ car, with a 6 speed, AC, and streetable. I'm guessing this would take around 25k total, I have ~10k saved now and I'm ready to start the build up but one of the main problems I'm having is that I want to drive the car now and I want it to have more power.

My plans were to buy a Procharger kit with the upgraded F1A head unit and run it with the biggest pully possible. I was hoping I would be able to drive it around and have some fun with it over the next year while I build up the rest of the car. After talking with EPP this sounds like a bad idea, the person I spoke with through PM's doesn't think the engine will stand a chance even for a short time. I'm not overly concerned about blowing up the stock engine but there is no point in wasting this stock shortblock if its not going to last 6-8 months.