Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

complete newb here

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 07:42 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default complete newb here

just got my ls1 motor, so i felt the need to finally post in the newb section. i have an insane amount to learn so i'll do my best to search the forums before i bombard you guys with questions.

just wanted to introduce myself.
Old 08-03-2007, 07:47 PM
TECH Enthusiast

bomb away . If this sight was a nation it would be a waste land with some of the question bombs I have dropped. welcome.
Old 08-03-2007, 08:17 PM
TECH Resident

lol i dunno i got some pretty dumb q's to ask. i don't want to annoy anyone, but a lot of times when i try doing a search here, i get a server error message, so i'm tempted to just start asking. anyone else getting server error messages?

here's a q....when you see gauges on these fourth gen ls1 f-bodies like this: http://images.gmhightechperformance....s+interior.jpg how do the custom gauges hook up to the wiring harness? do you have to cut and solder the wires coming from the wiring harness to the wires coming from the gauges?

i plan on getting the painless wiring system and i see how the wires go from the pcm to the sensors on the engine, but how it connects to gauges that aren't stock i have no clue.
Old 08-03-2007, 08:32 PM
TECH Resident

You know what, screw it. I'll ask away and if anyone wants to answer that would be cooler than the other side of the pillow. Be warned though, some of these will sound totally dumb...

How do you drain the transmission fluid?

How does the wiring harness connect to gauges (see above)?

Does the wiring harness connect to the vss?

With the SLP Loudmouth exhaust, are there two types? What are the differences in sound and performance if there are?

When you buy headers, are they direct boltons to the exhaust system?

Is an aftermarket exhaust system like the Loudmouth or Corsa direct bolt-on, or do you have to fabricate or cut any metal?