Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

engine tore down, now what?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2007, 07:23 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default engine tore down, now what?

ok, my car started knocking right after i changed the oil basically about a month ago. im a tech. apprentice so i have good resources and we narrowed it down to a cracked skirt or a wrist pin thats worn loose. well, it ended up being that my crank pulley was loose and rattling so i pulled an entire motor(out of the top)and tore it down to a shortblock and then found it(simple mistakes i know, ive kicked my own *** enough so i dont need any more harsh criticism!!!) ive been thinking about putting all new gaskets and just slammin it back together and selling it for a decent priced ls1 car, but ive been thinking, maybe i could rebuild it and throw a cam in it and just keep it b/c its basically a new car, but i cant make a decision on what to do. if i plan on selling it pretty soon, i wont throw money into it for no reason but if i keep it idk... btw it has 120k on it and it runs like a champ. when its at operating temp, oil pressure is at 40 and at wot it goes up, so im not reallyy experiencing a whole lot of blow-by. i dont know what to do!
thanks guys
Oh and btw, i have been wanting to run a small n20 setup and thats the main reason i dont know whether or not to sell it or not. like i said, the engine is super clean and runs great.
Old 11-07-2007, 07:32 PM
12 Second Club