Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

rough idle, bogging, dies.....tried search

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2008, 08:53 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default rough idle, bogging, dies.....tried search

okay im still new to the LS1 car, and i have been doing major searches on here for about 3 weeks, but just cant quite pin point my problem so here it goes....start the car when its completely cold, engine temp wise....it will start up and idle then it will start slowly idling lower and lower until it about dies then rev itself back up to around 1500 and then come back to normal....sometimes thats it sometimes it does that about 2-3 times then dies. if it dies it wont restart without putting the pedal to the floor and then it will run rough and blow tons of black smoke out the back then it will straighten up. another thing is if it starts and i take off before it totally warms up it will bog really bad and start to buck in first and 2nd, just like its being choked to death. im at a total loss here, i have been told its the tune, its the plugs and wires, its the o2 sensors not being hot enough???? its a 2002 car, engine is presine condition as far as rubber hoses and such, it does have long tube headers, ory pipe, NO CATS, air pump deleted from the car....any help would be greatly appreciated, it sucks no knowing when and if the car is going to run right everyday!!! thanks in advance!!!
Old 05-08-2008, 09:34 AM
Teching In

Id say first check plugs and wires if theyre good double check your sensors on your lid
Mabe your MAF sensor isnt working?
What octane gas do you use?
I had a simular problem when someone bought me a tank of gas and put 87 in it, ran horrible for about 500 miles.
Old 05-08-2008, 09:40 AM
On The Tree

wire "look" good, they are some cheaper auto zone wires that came on the car, dont know bout the plugs at this point.....i use 91 or better in the car, all the time!!!!
Old 05-08-2008, 10:40 AM
Staging Lane