Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Killing the motor after a N2o pass...

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2009, 12:28 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Killing the motor after a N2o pass...

I am trying to learn about reading plugs for tuning for N2o. I understand that in order to get a good read, the engine must be killed as you cross the line.
As a transmission builder, I have some serious concerns with this practice.
I understand that professional sponsored teams do this, BUT, this practice causes serious damage to internal transmission parts due to a lack of lubrication. And these teams replace/rebuild their trannies once a week. Some even run an extra pump to circulate transmission fluid when the engine is cut off.

When the engine is killed and the vehicle is still moving at speed, you have just stopped effectively lubricating the transmission. No different than running your engine without oil. It does not matter if you have neutralized the transmission or not, the output shaft and rear planets are still turning without lubrication.

So with all that being said, how much of a read on the plugs is lost if the car is allowed to idle down and to the pits?

Rick
Old 12-19-2009, 12:59 AM
TECH Fanatic

hmm... never thought about that
Old 12-19-2009, 09:41 AM
Race your car!

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

Not sure what to say on that one, I generally, when trying to get a good read on plugs click the key off, and get the car stopped and off the track as soon as possible. Been doing it for 2 years, and never had a problem with the tranny at all.. I can see your point, but I don't know. I change the tranny fluid about every 20 to 30 passes and have never seen anything telling me it's hurting stuff either.