Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new to nitrous. quick question?

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2012, 07:56 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to nitrous. quick question?

hey guys wus up. im new to nitrous. i hava a 99 ta with all the mods on sig my. first time praying and noticed that my car seems to be choking at 5000. its like the car stops making power passed 5k. bottle presure was any were from 900 1200 psi in all passes and it seemed to do the same every time. could it bee the choker ls1 intake? plugs all look good it was 100 shot wet. best time was a 7.7 shifting at 5k. not very good grip any help would be grate.

thanks in advance
Old 03-13-2012, 12:55 AM
Teching In

I would check to see if your car has knock retard and what your air to fuel ratio was at that rpm. If it is detecting knock(whether its false or not) the computer will pull timing and it will feel like your car hits a wall.
Old 03-13-2012, 06:20 AM
TECH Enthusiast

thanks. i thought it was the ls1 intake choking the car. ill be tuning it soon just wanted some input, cuz i didn't want to tune the car an then the tuner tell me that its the intake and spend the cash twice on tuning.
Old 03-13-2012, 11:09 PM
FormerVendor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by lsxTAlemy
thanks. i thought it was the ls1 intake choking the car. ill be tuning it soon just wanted some input, cuz i didn't want to tune the car an then the tuner tell me that its the intake and spend the cash twice on tuning.
Odds are your issue is in your tune. You should be tuning it before hitting it like you are. There is an issue somewhere. Its either in the tune or fuel pressure.

Dave
Old 03-14-2012, 06:46 AM
TECH Enthusiast

thanks for that replies, but my tuner told me should be good with a 100 hit without problems. i will be tuning for a 150 soon but had to get a couple passes at 100 this weekend. im having traction issues so there would be not point to go 150 175 if i cant get 100 to stick lol