Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ms3+150shot+stock shortblock

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2013, 11:39 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ms3+150shot+stock shortblock

I'm new to nitrous, but not to the rest of the game. I wanted to run something by you veterans that race to get some opinions. My engine mods are ms3 and top end kit, headers, stock ls6 intake with 42lb green tops, vararam twin cone air filter, and a meziere water pump...pretty simple. ?The car also has a Walbro 255. The shortblock is a stock '02 ls1 with only 24k miles on it.
I'm intending on purchasing a Nitrous Express F body specific wet kit, and a hidden trunk bottle mount bracket. For supporting accessories, I'm going to get a blow down tube, fuel pressure sensor shutoff, window switch, and tps switch. I also plan to run a bottle heater. The car would be tuned at Beyond Redline in Green Bay.
The car currently makes decent power for the mods already (116mph trap) and with any sort of traction is a solid 11 second car. I drive this car alot on the street and nitrous will be track only ( i can't hook up what I have now at the local track with ET streets)
For track only application of that level of spray, am I on the right track and with good tuning should the engine be OK? I know any/everything mechanical can break, and if it does break, I will build a forged shortblock. I just want to know if I would be way better off backing it down to a 100shot. This is a popular cam, so I'm sure there should be alot of available input.
Stay safe
Old 10-06-2013, 09:34 PM
11 Second Club

As long as the tune is setup good you shouldn't have a problem. I have heard before that the MS3's like nitrous also.
Old 10-06-2013, 10:20 PM
Ls1tech & Truck Sponsor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't see any reason that with your current setup that you wouldn't be able to run 150hp. I have heard of several people running the ms3 cam and using 150hp without any problems.